First place at Ford Kite Cup 2012 – Chałupy edition!


It was a great start of the season! But let’s start from the beggining … this year, I took part in the Polish Cup Ford Kite Cup, it was my second season at FKC.

katarzyna-lange-kitesurf-ford-kite-cup

The first episode took place in Chałupy on 19 – 20 of May 2012. I was very curious how I would go, after such a fantastic winter, because my calendar was filled with training – first five months I’ve spent in my friend’s – Darek Marchewka- Pousada Surf Village in brazilian Guajiru, and then two months in Mui Ne, Vietnam. This period gave me plenty of time to learn new tricks and practice efficiency. If “downwinder” was a competition, I would eagerly participated in it, because in Brazil we’ve been doing downwinders from the lagoon almost every time and it’s really fun 🙂

On the first day of the competition there was no wind, and the forecast for Sunday promised steady wind from the east, and so it happened. From early morning the wind was about 13-16kts and Race competition started, and then a single elimination of Freestyle.

After the first heat I knew that the conditions suit me perfectly, the wind was very fair but not too strong. I had my new Liquid Force Nirvana kites, 77 Project board, and I was full of entusiasm while waiting for start 🙂 And.. I won it!  Thanks to that, my motivation was even strengthened. Next heats of men and women continued for hours, and I managed to win next couple of heats. Out of five, I won four!! This is the best result so far 🙂

The day was long because the organizers anounced a double elimination, which began in the afternoon. The wind was still very enjoyable and I spent the whole day using 9m Nirvana. Kite did not disappoint me, even when I had a bad crash after doing the trick- back to blind, I could quickly get back performing. In the double elimination I also had best score which meant I got the top of the podium in Chałupy Ford Kite Cup 2012!

Women finished around 7pm but men did fight till sunset. The last, final hit of double elimination turned out to be extremely charming, with sun going down changing colours of the background – Victor and Marek had a last heat, which eventually Victor won.

After that long day,a sunny Sunday came and we all waited for the closing ceremonies.

It was a delightful feeling to stand in the first place and it gave me a lot of positive energy for the next editions!

Check out official video of Polish Ford Kite Cup 2012 – Chałupy edition

tłumaczenie polskie:

To był świetny początek sezonu !

Ale po kolei…w  tym roku po raz kolejny brałam udział w Pucharze Polski Ford Kite Cup.

Pierwszy odcinek odbył się w Chałupach w dniach 19 – 20 maja 2012. Byłam bardzo ciekawa jak mi pójdzie po tak fantastycznie spędzonej zimie, bo mój kalendarz był wypełniony treningiem – najpierw 5 miesięcy spędzonym w Pousadzie Surf Village u Marchewy w brazylijskim Guajiru, a następnie 2 miesiące w Mui Ne, w Wietnamie. Ten okres dał mi mnóstwo czasu na naukę nowych tricków oraz ćwiczenie skuteczności. Gdyby downwind był konkurencją, również chętnie bym w niej uczestniczyła, bo w Brazylii spływaliśmy z laguny praktycznie za każdym razem i jest to świetna zabawa:)

Pierwszego dnia zawodów nie było wiatru, natomiast na niedzielę prognoza zapowiadała stały wiatr ze wschodu i tak też się stało. Od rana przy wietrze około 13-16kts  ruszyła konkurencja Race, a następnie pojedyncza eliminacja Freestyle.

Już po pierwszym hicie wiedziałam że warunki odpowiadają mi idealnie, wiatr był bardzo równy i niezbyt mocny. Miałam nowe kite’y Liquid Force Nirvana, deskę 77 Project, oraz pełno entuzjazmu wyczekując startów:) Ten hit wygrałam! Dzięki temu motywacja została jeszcze wzmocniona. Dalej rozgrywały się pojedynki mężczyzn i kobiet,  kolejnych kilka hitów należało również do mnie. Z pięciu hitów wygrałam cztery !! To najlepszy wynik jaki miałam dotychczas:)

Dzień był długi bo organizatorzy zarządzili podwójną eliminację, która rozpoczęła się popołudniu. Wiatr był wciąż bardzo przyjemny i cały dzień spędziłam na Nirvanie 9m. Latawiec nie zawiódł mnie podczas jednej rozgrywki gdy upadłam wykonując trick back to blind i szybko wróciłam do walki. W podwójnej eliminacji również utrzymałam najlepszy wynik co rzuciło mnie na najwyższe pudło Ford Kite Cup Chałupy 2012 !

Kobiety skończyły około godziny 19:00 natomiast mężczyźni doczekali zachodzie słońca. Niezwykle urokliwy okazał się ostatni, finałowy hit podwójnej eliminacji – Viktora i Mareczka , który ostatecznie wygrał Viktor.

Po długim dniu nadeszła słoneczna niedziela i wszyscy czekaliśmy na ceremonię zakończenia.

To było przemiłe uczucie stanąć na pierwszym miejscu i dało mi dużo pozytywnej energii na kolejne edycje!!

Zobaczcie jak to wyglądało na oficjalnym klipie: Ford Kite Cup Chałupy 2012

Leave a Reply

